Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 44

Thread: Radeon Power Management Gets More Fixes For 3.11

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    240

    Default

    This. Also: the more we test that, the more quickly DPM will get fixed. My E-450 wasn't booting at all with RC1 + DPM (WSoD), but the bugfixing patches between RC1 and RC2 saved the day.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Replying to myself: there is a new package in a special Fedora repository that does the trick. So, my E-450 netbook, with Fedora 19 with special repos, Mesa from yesterday, and with a special firmware folder setup (I deleted /usr/lib/firmware and replaced it with a git clone of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git ), is running like a dream. Same battery life as Catalyst, none of Catalyst bugs, splendid 2D performance, more than adequate 3D performance, VDPAU video acceleration... This is amazing.

    The only things missing seem to be:

    1. Are E-450 Turbo GPU speeds supported by DPM?
    2. OpenGL 4.x
    Last edited by Alejandro Nova; 07-24-2013 at 06:06 PM.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alejandro Nova View Post
    1. Are E-450 Turbo GPU speeds supported by DPM?
    Yes, turbo is fully supported.

  4. #34

    Default

    Is there a plan to support older GPU (R500)?

    Thanks.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    369

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alejandro Nova View Post
    .... So, my E-450 netbook, with Fedora 19 with special repos, Mesa from yesterday, and with a special firmware folder setup is running like a dream. Same battery life as Catalyst, none of Catalyst bugs, splendid 2D performance, more than adequate 3D performance, VDPAU video acceleration... This is amazing.
    Great to hear. I have an E-450 m-itx board for my home theater PC, and I've been looking forward to dumping Catalyst. I haven't tested it too much myself, because breaking it would mean that I can't watch TV


    FGLRX, with XVBA, doesn't seem to support MPEG2 hardware decoding (only h264, VC1), but if I understand correctly the Free driver implementation does. If so that is seriously awesome, because HDTV is broadcast here in super high bitrate MPEG2 + aac. My E-450 is able to decode it on the CPU, but just barely. It'll be nice not having the CPU running at 98% all the time.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oibaf View Post
    Is there a plan to support older GPU (R500)?

    Thanks.
    No, they don't have the power hw. Search for bridgman/agd5f posts, CBA to look it up now.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Now there are new firmware packages for F19, so no git custom firmware setup needed; we only need the special kernel repo.

    It looks like there are Fedora package maintainers reading this thread .

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benmoran View Post
    Great to hear. I have an E-450 m-itx board for my home theater PC, and I've been looking forward to dumping Catalyst. I haven't tested it too much myself, because breaking it would mean that I can't watch TV


    FGLRX, with XVBA, doesn't seem to support MPEG2 hardware decoding (only h264, VC1), but if I understand correctly the Free driver implementation does. If so that is seriously awesome, because HDTV is broadcast here in super high bitrate MPEG2 + aac. My E-450 is able to decode it on the CPU, but just barely. It'll be nice not having the CPU running at 98% all the time.
    I was able to decode some Shingeki no Kyoujin 720p videos with Mplayer2 and VDPAU at 12% CPU usage (you know that's impossible for an E-450 without HW assistance), but the Gallium VDPAU state tracker seems to be picky about the quality of your videos. Test, test and test, and report back any bug.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    240

    Default

    It's me again. You won't have any issues anymore with today's Fedora update.

    Code:
    elyria@hydragiros ~$ vdpauinfo
    display: :0   screen: 0
    API version: 1
    Information string: G3DVL VDPAU Driver Shared Library version 1.0
    
    Video surface:
    
    name   width height types
    -------------------------------------------
    420    16384 16384  NV12 
    422    16384 16384  NV12 
    444    16384 16384  NV12 
    
    Decoder capabilities:
    
    name               level macbs width height
    -------------------------------------------
    MPEG1                16  9216  2048  1152
    MPEG2_SIMPLE         16  9216  2048  1152
    MPEG2_MAIN           16  9216  2048  1152
    H264_BASELINE        16  9216  2048  1152
    H264_MAIN            16  9216  2048  1152
    H264_HIGH            16  9216  2048  1152
    VC1_SIMPLE           16  9216  2048  1152
    VC1_MAIN             16  9216  2048  1152
    VC1_ADVANCED         16  9216  2048  1152
    MPEG4_PART2_SP       16  9216  2048  1152
    MPEG4_PART2_ASP      16  9216  2048  1152
    
    Output surface:
    
    name              width height nat types
    ----------------------------------------------------
    B8G8R8A8         16384 16384    y  NV12 
    R8G8B8A8         16384 16384    y  NV12 
    R10G10B10A2      16384 16384    y  NV12 
    B10G10R10A2      16384 16384    y  NV12 
    
    Bitmap surface:
    
    name              width height
    ------------------------------
    B8G8R8A8         16384 16384
    R8G8B8A8         16384 16384
    R10G10B10A2      16384 16384
    B10G10R10A2      16384 16384
    A8               16384 16384
    
    Video mixer:
    
    feature name                    sup
    ------------------------------------
    DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL             -
    DEINTERLACE_TEMPORAL_SPATIAL     -
    INVERSE_TELECINE                 -
    NOISE_REDUCTION                  y
    SHARPNESS                        y
    LUMA_KEY                         -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L1        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L2        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L3        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L4        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L5        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L6        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L7        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L8        -
    HIGH QUALITY SCALING - L9        -
    
    parameter name                  sup      min      max
    -----------------------------------------------------
    VIDEO_SURFACE_WIDTH              y        48     2048
    VIDEO_SURFACE_HEIGHT             y        48     1152
    CHROMA_TYPE                      y  
    LAYERS                           y         0        4
    
    attribute name                  sup      min      max
    -----------------------------------------------------
    BACKGROUND_COLOR                 y  
    CSC_MATRIX                       y  
    NOISE_REDUCTION_LEVEL            y      0.00     1.00
    SHARPNESS_LEVEL                  y     -1.00     1.00
    LUMA_KEY_MIN_LUMA                y  
    LUMA_KEY_MAX_LUMA                y
    What you want is MPEG2_MAIN. VDPAU + the free driver gives it.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    Posts
    46

    Default Hd 6870

    Anyone has DPM working on HD 6870 [BARTS]?
    I get black screen right after the module loads on 3.11-rc[1-3] with radeon.dpm=1 .
    GCC is 4.8.1 and I have all the latest BARTS firmware.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •