Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2 xorg processes running...?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default 2 xorg processes running...?

    hello there,

    is it normal that i have 2 xorg processes listed in the output of top?

    Code:
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
    18587 root      20   0  655m 270m  61m S    2 13.4 326:36.00 Xorg               
    18596 root      20   0  655m 270m  61m S    0 13.4   0:00.00 Xorg
    if so, why? and why do they use so much memory (each!)?


    my system:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750
    2 G ram
    radeon hd 2600 pro pci-x with 512 mb of memory
    latest driver from amd's website (catalyst 8.3)
    debian (lenny at present)
    2.6.24.3 vanilla kernel
    version of xorg in lenny is: X Window System Version 1.3.0



    thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I got exactly same situation with you. Once I use the free ati driver, this doesn't happen. fglrx is really wierld...
    Quote Originally Posted by stealth View Post
    hello there,

    is it normal that i have 2 xorg processes listed in the output of top?

    Code:
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
    18587 root      20   0  655m 270m  61m S    2 13.4 326:36.00 Xorg               
    18596 root      20   0  655m 270m  61m S    0 13.4   0:00.00 Xorg
    if so, why? and why do they use so much memory (each!)?


    my system:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750
    2 G ram
    radeon hd 2600 pro pci-x with 512 mb of memory
    latest driver from amd's website (catalyst 8.3)
    debian (lenny at present)
    2.6.24.3 vanilla kernel
    version of xorg in lenny is: X Window System Version 1.3.0



    thank you

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Radoboj, Croatia
    Posts
    155

    Default

    It happens to me too on catalyst 8.12. They both eat over 100 MB of memory, and if I turn on compiz effects, they eat even more.

    With radeon driver, there is only one Xorg process that eats about 50 MB of memory.

    I tried to kill one of the process, but I can't, even if I try to kill it as root.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,788

    Default

    I have it too (Catalyst 8.12). The extra process seems to be "fake" though; it doesn't really consume any memory or CPU at all and seems an exact clone of the first X process.

    Btw, after about 8 hours uptime, the X process hits 400MB usage. And that without Compiz.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Radoboj, Croatia
    Posts
    155

    Default

    So what's the purpose of the second 'fake' xorg process? (a question for an ATI dev team)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,404

    Default

    It's a second thread, don't remember what it does though. Both threads share the same memory, there aren't actually two sets of memory being used. There is another thread on here dating back to when the second thread appeared (1-2 years ago) and mtippett posted more about it there. Will see if I can find it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    365

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    It's a second thread, don't remember what it does though. Both threads share the same memory, there aren't actually two sets of memory being used. There is another thread on here dating back to when the second thread appeared (1-2 years ago) and mtippett posted more about it there. Will see if I can find it.
    Firefox's awesome bar rules them all
    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...t=10811&page=4
    No real explanation there though, he only said it's a thread within the driver...

    However, just to clarify that: It doesn't consume the whole memory twice, X just shows up twice in the task manager.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Radoboj, Croatia
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoBrain View Post
    Firefox's awesome bar rules them all
    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...t=10811&page=4
    No real explanation there though, he only said it's a thread within the driver...

    However, just to clarify that: It doesn't consume the whole memory twice, X just shows up twice in the task manager.
    Thank you very much for that link. Now it's finally clear to me why there are two xorg processes. And it also made me clear why windows detect two graphics cards after installing the ATI catalyst driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •