Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 58

Thread: RadeonSI / GLAMOR Support Still M.I.A. From Ubuntu 13.10

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    320

    Default

    You only use 3D acceleration, which is better than 2D.
    3D acceleration probably isn't problem, but OpenGL. Hardware acceleration of 2D graphics should be done without using OpenGL API.

    Quote Originally Posted by JS987 View Post
    There are Direct2D / DirectWrite and Direct3D on Windows. Firefox and IE are using Direct2D / DirectWrite and would use only Direct3D if Direct2D is unnecessary.
    It seems that Direct2D is library like Cairo and not part of graphics driver.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It is not only that 13.10 is missing glamor package, but also xserver-xorg-video-ati ships without glamor being enabled. To make my card work I had to;
    1. Compile and install glamor packages from ppa:cybjit/ppa-glamor
    2. Re-compile xserver-xorg-video-ati with --enable-glamor and re-install

    Well, this is not a big deal (at least one does not need to compile mesa), but seriosly, Ubuntu devs should get more serious about the issue, most recent major distros do support radeonsi by default, it is not that these cards are some kind of obscure hardware...

    @ tjaalton:

    What do you mean by "NEW queue" ?!
    Last edited by Zgembo; 09-14-2013 at 03:10 PM. Reason: typo

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zgembo View Post
    What do you mean by "NEW queue" ?!
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/saucy/+queue

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    OH, its13.10 package acceptance queue. Cool, so glamor might be there on release, but what about "--enable-glamor" in xserver-xorg-video-ati?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Glamor support just landed in saucy.

  6. #16

    Default

    Yeah, GLAMOR library is finally in 13.10 but the radeon driver wasn't built with glamor support. Rebuilding it it's working fine for me now but there's still a bug with DRI PRIME and multi-GPU. Glamor is required to use DRI PRIME between an r600 APU and a radeonsi discrete GPU from what I've read but my radeonsi 7730M is being detected as r600 and DRI PRIME crashes X when used. I'm pretty disappointed in Ubuntu's package managing team for this screwup when all the code is ready to use, they just refuse to build it right. Can't wait for oibaf/xorg-edgers to start pushing 13.10 releases that have all the compile options set.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
    Yeah, GLAMOR library is finally in 13.10 but the radeon driver wasn't built with glamor support. Rebuilding it it's working fine for me now but there's still a bug with DRI PRIME and multi-GPU. Glamor is required to use DRI PRIME between an r600 APU and a radeonsi discrete GPU from what I've read but my radeonsi 7730M is being detected as r600 and DRI PRIME crashes X when used. I'm pretty disappointed in Ubuntu's package managing team for this screwup when all the code is ready to use, they just refuse to build it right. Can't wait for oibaf/xorg-edgers to start pushing 13.10 releases that have all the compile options set.
    any proof of this, like a bug on launchpad?

    The driver was rebuilt with glamor support, and I heard it worked at least for someone.. don't have the hw myself.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
    Rebuilding it it's working fine for me now but there's still a bug with DRI PRIME and multi-GPU. Glamor is required to use DRI PRIME between an r600 APU and a radeonsi discrete GPU from what I've read but my radeonsi 7730M is being detected as r600 and DRI PRIME crashes X when used.
    If it hasn't been done, you should report the bug. I have an Intel hd4000 and an Amd hd 7730M, and it is detected properly (though I don't use ubuntu).

    By curiosity, I'd like to see some logs showing the bug. It's hard for me to believe the hd7730M is recognized as r600 (yes both use the same DDX, but the DDX load them differently, so there shouldn't be issues).

  9. #19

    Default

    https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=70409

    I put in a bug report for the issue, see attached xorg log. When it lists the drivers it shows r600.

    [ 10291.957] (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
    [ 10291.957] (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] DRI driver: r600
    [ 10291.957] (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] VDPAU driver: r600

    This is after the driver goes through initialization for both ARUBA (7660G) and VERDE (7730M). Also there is an error where EGL fails to initialize on the VERDE while it initializes successfully on ARUBA which is odd.

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
    https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=70409

    I put in a bug report for the issue, see attached xorg log. When it lists the drivers it shows r600.

    [ 10291.957] (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
    [ 10291.957] (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] DRI driver: r600
    [ 10291.957] (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] VDPAU driver: r600

    This is after the driver goes through initialization for both ARUBA (7660G) and VERDE (7730M). Also there is an error where EGL fails to initialize on the VERDE while it initializes successfully on ARUBA which is odd.
    ARUBA does use r600. I have a A8-5500 with 7560D and it uses r600. The Trinity (and Richland probably) IGPs all use it.
    The radeon driver might initialize both cards, but xorg is another matter:

    Code:
    [ 10285.686] (==) No device specified for screen "Default Screen Section".
    	Using the first device section listed.
    [ 10285.686] (**) |   |-->Device "7660G"
    Xorg is using the first card. I dont think you can use 2 cards at once in xorg, you should set it up specifically for one of them in xorg.conf based in the PCI ID.
    Notice the * in front of the first card (the IGP):

    Code:
    [ 10285.687] (II) xfree86: Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card0)
    [ 10285.688] (II) xfree86: Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card1)
    [ 10291.463] (--) PCI:*(0:0:1:0) 1002:9900:103c:1831 rev 0, Mem @ 0xd0000000/268435456, 0xf0400000/262144, I/O @ 0x00004000/256
    [ 10291.463] (--) PCI: (0:1:0:0) 1002:682f:103c:1831 rev 0, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0300000/262144, I/O @ 0x00003000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •