Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Qt5-Based KDE KWin Enters Usable State

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,639

    Default Qt5-Based KDE KWin Enters Usable State

    Phoronix: Qt5-Based KDE KWin Enters Usable State

    The next-generation KDE KWin window manager for KDE Frameworks 5 and using the Qt 5.x tool-kit is quickly entering a usable state and can now handle "dogfeeding" by its developers...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ2MTM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,485

    Default

    I'm pretty excited for it but I'd rather wait until it's officially released. I'm creating a python program with qt and I'm getting segfault issues with qt5 using some pretty straight-forward code. So if a 20-line python script fails to run, I'm not going to trust an entire DE to run reliably.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    321

    Default

    Care to post your code ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by doom_Oo7 View Post
    Care to post your code ?
    I'm not home to look at it now, but it's easy to reproduce yourself. If you open up the Qt designer, create a window with a dock widget, save it, and then run pyuic5. The script it creates will segfault, even though the code looks fine. It works fine using pyuic4.

    I'm using Arch linux 64 bit. I've found that there's no python 3 version of pyuic5, which isn't too helpful.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,244

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    I'm not home to look at it now, but it's easy to reproduce yourself. If you open up the Qt designer, create a window with a dock widget, save it, and then run pyuic5. The script it creates will segfault, even though the code looks fine. It works fine using pyuic4.

    I'm using Arch linux 64 bit. I've found that there's no python 3 version of pyuic5, which isn't too helpful.
    It's probably the python language bindings that are buggy. I imagine that's one of the trickier, and last things, to get done.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    It's probably the python language bindings that are buggy. I imagine that's one of the trickier, and last things, to get done.
    As far as I'm aware, none of the Qt devs are developing pyqt. I'm pretty sure it's a separate unrelated project. But, I'm keeping an open eye out for updates. It really shouldn't take very long for them to clean up the problems, and I can still develop in qt4 in the meantime.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    As far as I'm aware, none of the Qt devs are developing pyqt. I'm pretty sure it's a separate unrelated project. But, I'm keeping an open eye out for updates. It really shouldn't take very long for them to clean up the problems, and I can still develop in qt4 in the meantime.
    PyQt is maintained by a company called Riverbank Computing; however, the Qt-Project maintains PySide (which is mostly source compatible if you change the imports to point to PySide instead of PyQt). The reason for PyQt's existense is that Nokia loved the idea of Python bindings for their toolkit but hated the fact that PyQt was only available as either with a GPL or properitery license (if you paid for it) so they created PySide under the LGPL. Unfortuantly, only PyQt seems to support Qt5.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •