Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 63

Thread: AMD Puts Catalyst 13.10 GPU Driver Into Beta State

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Ive been testing the driver with a fully patched ubuntu 13.04 x64 system. Everything is completely standard so this should be a very easy system for the driver to live in - and i would expect that is would be one of the environments that the driver was qualified in as its on the supported distro list.

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    322

    Default

    With this driver I can't play any valve games , leaft 4 dead 2 had big stuttering, dota2 10 fps..., serious sam bfe3, 15 fps ... :/ disaster

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrvenaZvezda View Post
    I only had problems like this when playing with non-stable repositories...
    I was talking/ranting about the AMD proprietary drivers.

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    25

    Thumbs up Finally, some light !

    Well, you know I've been complaining around here about APUs, but, last night, I had some spare time and I tried the new 13.10 beta on an A10-4600M Trinity and an A10-6800K Richland and, finally, it seems to work in the worst offending cases, like The Cave and TF2/Portal with high-quality settings enabled and, as a subjective, quick evaluation, TF2 seems to work more smoothly @1080p ( on the A10-6800K ).

    Video playback seems to work OK, sound over HDMI seems to work ( at least, stereo ).
    Unfortunately, you still have to reboot the OS to activate multiple displays ...

    I didn't have time to do a lot of tests, but I plan to test and see if it works when activating the (crossfired) dGPU.

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Agross View Post
    Well, you know I've been complaining around here about APUs, but, last night, I had some spare time and I tried the new 13.10 beta on an A10-4600M Trinity and an A10-6800K Richland and, finally, it seems to work in the worst offending cases, like The Cave and TF2/Portal with high-quality settings enabled and, as a subjective, quick evaluation, TF2 seems to work more smoothly @1080p ( on the A10-6800K ).

    Video playback seems to work OK, sound over HDMI seems to work ( at least, stereo ).
    Unfortunately, you still have to reboot the OS to activate multiple displays ...

    I didn't have time to do a lot of tests, but I plan to test and see if it works when activating the (crossfired) dGPU.
    Have you tried left 4 dead2 or dota? I can't play this games...., serious sam bfe3, so slow compared to windows.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by verde View Post
    all closed source drivers suck!

    ftfy ........

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pandev92 View Post
    Have you tried left 4 dead2 or dota? I can't play this games...., serious sam bfe3, so slow compared to windows.
    IŽve tried left4dead with the 13.10 beta and it worked smooth and stable (with HD 7950 under opensuse tumbleweed 64 bit) - much better than last time I checked under 13.8 beta 1 that had graphical problems with the film grain.
    IŽll test xbmc with xvba on monday and other games.

    cheers tomme

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    Basically you can play L4D2 with fgrlx 13.10 beta 2 but it is really slow compared to win, the autodetected values are definitely unplayable with my hd 5670. When you lower the settings then it runs, nvidia autodetected values usually work (i always change the res to native 1920x1200 however).

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    329

    Default left4dead2

    You are right. L4D2 is a bit choppy with 8xMSAA and 16xAF. It runs smooth on 4xMSAA and 8xAF. On my HD 7950 that should be better I guess....
    X3 albion prelude works on highest settings, but without AA... yes I enabled it in the settings...
    Serious Sam 3 does not even start, but thats since some time ago. I think last time it worked was with the 13.1 driver...

    I also tested xbmc 12.2 and vlc 2.1 FullHD video playback with vaapi - still choppy on vlc, smooth on xbmc. I could not test xvba as the opensuse rpm seems to be compiled without and even if i would compile myself I think it would not tell me for sure if it would also work on my E-350 htpc...

    so basically I am stuck on fglrx until suse 13.1 and will then switch to oss-driver at the end of the year, when the packages are in such a shape, that I do not have to manualy patch kernel or compile git mesa myself...

    cheers, tomme
    Last edited by tomtomme; 10-07-2013 at 11:59 AM.

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    Hotfix for SS3 after every driver change:
    Code:
    rm -rvf ~/.steam/root/SteamApps/common/Serious\ Sam\ 3/Temp/ShaderCache/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •