Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: New ATI drivers - black screen, system freeze and crash. Anyone in the same boat?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112

    Default

    I've just tried again with my HD3650 and only 2GB of RAM installed. I pointed authatieventsd.sh to /var/run/xauth/ and rebooted, but when I logout of KDE it still locks up so completely that even raising elephants with the magic sysreq key doesn't help. This was still with fglrx 8.3 btw.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oblivious_maximus View Post
    I've just tried again with my HD3650 and only 2GB of RAM installed. I pointed authatieventsd.sh to /var/run/xauth/ and rebooted, but when I logout of KDE it still locks up so completely that even raising elephants with the magic sysreq key doesn't help. This was still with fglrx 8.3 btw.
    I wrote XDM_AUTH_MASK=/var/run/xauth/A$1* after a post on planetkde and has never had a problem since.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    321

    Default

    I read most of this... I've been having the same issues myself on both 8.3 and 8.4, of course i lock terminal when i'm not at the computer. The lockups usually happen when the system is left running while logged in after well over 48 hours... should be worth nothing i am running on a Radeon X1900GT.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Talavis View Post
    I wrote XDM_AUTH_MASK=/var/run/xauth/A$1*
    that's exactly what I meant by "pointed authatieventsd.sh to /var/run/xauth", but thanks.

    I'll be trying the 3650 again sometime soon, now that I'm using i386 Debian and not amd64. Reading the recent fglrx threads has me feeling less than enthused about getting the Radeon working though.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I am seeing the same problem with Fedora 8 x86_64 on a Tyan Tomcat K8E-SLI with ATI Radeon X1650 Pro. The monitor will randomly go blank and the machine will freeze until it is rebooted (although it sometime reboots on its on). The messages log shows the following errors before this happens...

    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: BUG: soft lockup - CPU#1 stuck for 11s! [X:2977]
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: CPU 1:
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: Modules linked in: rfcomm l2cap bluetooth autofs4 fuse sunrpc nf_conntrack_netbios_ns nf_conntrack_ipv4 ipt_REJECT iptable_filter ip_tables nf_conntrack_ipv6 xt_state nf_conntrack xt_tcpudp ip6t_REJECT ip6table_filter ip6_tables x_tables dm_mirror dm_multipath dm_mod ipv6 floppy pcspkr e100 k8temp forcedeth hwmon tg3 serio_raw mii fglrx(P)(U) i2c_nforce2 i2c_core button sr_mod sg cdrom pata_amd sata_nv ata_generic pata_acpi libata sd_mod scsi_mod raid456 async_xor async_memcpy async_tx xor raid1 ext3 jbd mbcache uhci_hcd ohci_hcd ehci_hcd
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: Pid: 2977, comm: X Tainted: P 2.6.24.5-85.fc8 #1
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff88198af0>] [<ffffffff88198af0>] :fglrx:_ZN4Asic16Is_WPTR_equ_RPTR19ConditionSucces sfulEv+0x0/0x60
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: RSP: 0018:ffff81013d5d1c80 EFLAGS: 00200206
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: RAX: ffffffff881f0670 RBX: 00000000007ffff9 RCX: 0000000000000000
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: RDX: ffffc200013f14c0 RSI: ffffc200013f1020 RDI: ffff81013d5d1cf8
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: RBP: 0000000000000043 R08: ffffffff881f0670 R09: 0000000000000043
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: R10: ffff8100bf124ba0 R11: ffffffff810f9fec R12: ffff8100bf124ba0
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: R13: ffffffff810f9fec R14: 00000000007ffff9 R15: 0000000000200282
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: FS: 00002aaaaaad17b0(0000) GS:ffff81013fc01780(0000) knlGS:00000000f6f7aa50
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: CS: 0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: CR2: 0000003853aba380 CR3: 000000012a577000 CR4: 00000000000006a0
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: DR0: 0000000000000000 DR1: 0000000000000000 DR2: 0000000000000000
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: DR3: 0000000000000000 DR6: 00000000ffff0ff0 DR7: 0000000000000400
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel:
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: Call Trace:
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88197e3f>] :fglrx:_ZN4Asic9WaitUntil15WaitForCompleteEv+0x1f/0xa0
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff8819ba72>] :fglrx:_ZN6AsicR616ASICIdleInternalEN4Asic15idle_W aitMethodE+0xa2/0x1e0
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff881806fb>] :fglrx:_ZN10QS_PRIVATE10submitListEP9CMMDriverP10_ QS_PARAM_+0xfb/0x460
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88196945>] :fglrx:_ZN4Asic7PM4idleENS_15idle_WaitMethodE+0x55/0x90
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88191526>] :fglrx:_ZN15QS_PRIVATE_CORE7PM4idleEN4Asic15idle_W aitMethodE+0x26/0x50
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88180a8a>] :fglrx:_ZN10QS_PRIVATE11synchronizeEv+0x2a/0x30
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff881888e3>] :fglrx:_Z8uCWDDEQCmjjPvjS_+0x363/0xf80
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88145f4a>] :fglrx:firegl_cmmqs_CWDDE_32+0x20a/0x310
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88145037>] :fglrx:firegl_cmmqs_CWDDE32+0x67/0xf0
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88144fd0>] :fglrx:firegl_cmmqs_CWDDE32+0x0/0xf0
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff88138d26>] :fglrx:firegl_ioctl+0x1b6/0x230
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff810abe61>] do_ioctl+0x55/0x6b
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff810ac0ba>] vfs_ioctl+0x243/0x25c
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff810ac124>] sys_ioctl+0x51/0x71
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel: [<ffffffff8100c005>] tracesys+0xd5/0xda
    May 1 16:26:40 bromo kernel:
    May 1 16:26:52 bromo kernel: BUG: soft lockup - CPU#1 stuck for 11s! [X:2977]
    May 1 16:26:52 bromo kernel: CPU 1:

    I've tried using noacpi, noapictimer and acpi_use_timer_override but none of those help. What are the other folks here seeing in there message logs from just before the blank screen/reboot?
    Jack

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default new ATI proprietary April report

    Sorry guys, I'm not seeing the black screen or the auto reboot, but I do have these problems persisting.

    Hard Lockup when I play something like quake3 engine. ( probably anything with 3D accel ) The lockup happens in several situations, and I must hard reboot (using restart button on tower) system is non responsive. the cases are as follows:

    I always use XFCE and gdm

    1. I have been working for hours as my dev user in standard X session, and I have probably watched a ton of flash videos ( I mention this because I think it is related somehow ) Then I log out of that X session and login as my game user, again standard X XFCE session. After I start a game, like UrbanTerror, I will usually get a lockup within 10 minutes. After I restart and login as my game user, I have no problems playing the game for hours. There is something about that reboot that resets something, maybe onboard the card itself. I have tried rmmod fglrx and then modprobe to reload it, but that doesn't make the game stable like a fresh reboot.

    2. I'm playing UrbanTerror and have just changed game system settings, like fps, compress textures, or vertical sync. The game will start to jitter and then the system will lockup. Again its definitely the card and the driver right?

    3. I have seen your black screen that causes me to reboot, but that happens when I move between virtual consoles. I will go to console 1 and put the machine in init 3, but then if I go to virtual console 7 ( where X was spawning ) I get a black screen, and I'm not able to do anything but reboot (ctrl+alt+del)

    I was hoping that this latest April driver would solve problems for us IGP guys, but I guess not. I'm using

    Gigabyte ga-ma69G-s3h using the IGP ati x1250 and all other integrated devices.

    I definitely had to remove pulseaudio, it was causing all kinds of weird problems, but the ATI driver is the culprit.

    I'm waiting for radeonHD driver with 3D support, I bet it destroys ATI proprietary. Gotta have hope

    Oh yeah, most importantly. If you are having a lot of problems with fedora 8 x86_64 I recommend this especially if you did an upgrade from fc7 to fc8

    go to init 2 or 3 ( get out of X )

    Then do a yum groupremove "X Window System" "KDE" whatever else you have related to X.

    Then do a yum groupinstall "X Window System" "KDE" "XFCE" whatever.

    Thanks to jwhowarth for setting me straight on fc7 packages that still apply to fc8. I had gotten rid of almost all fc7 packages, but he pointed out that a lot of them are still used.

    I know this takes a long time and it seems like overkill, but trust me, it fixed a bunch of my problems. Granted my upgrade from fc7 to fc8 was eventful to say the least, but doing the above you are certain to reload all the latest libs and binaries.

    Clay
    Last edited by c247; 05-03-2008 at 10:22 AM.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I hope you made a list of the fc7 rpms that you deleted. There are quite a few packages in Fedora 8 that still have the fc7 suffix. Critical things like grep for instance. You really should use 'yum list extras' to find those packages that aren't part of the current release of fedora.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Wow you are right, a bunch of core fc7 packages made it back into my fc8 when I did the X related group installs. Crazy! I had gotten rid of all but a few fc7 packages and my system was stable. How Odd Where did I find an fc8 grep ? I'm totally confused now

    Clay

  9. #39
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Look at the list of packages in the Fedora 8 distribution...

    http://mirror.stanford.edu/fedora/li...4/os/Packages/

    Basically, the fedora developers didn't bump the fc version on those packages that didn't change versions or revisions for Fedora 8. You can generally assume that after upgrading Fedora and doing a yum update that all of the current packages will be installed. You then can use 'yum list extras' to identify those packages that are either depreciated out of the current fedora release or those that you installed yourself outside of the normal yum repos.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Angus View Post
    In the absence of any clarification of the location of these logs, I decided to look into /var/logs/, and I found Xorg.0.log. Here's what the end of it looked like:

    (II) fglrx(0): driver needs X.org 7.1.x.y with x.y >= 0.0
    (II) fglrx(0): detected X.org 7.1.0.0
    (EE) fglrx(0): atiddxDriScreenInit failed, GPS not been initialized.
    (WW) fglrx(0): ***********************************************
    (WW) fglrx(0): * DRI initialization failed! *
    (WW) fglrx(0): * (maybe driver kernel module missing or bad) *
    (WW) fglrx(0): * 2D acceleraton available (MMIO) *
    (WW) fglrx(0): * no 3D acceleration available *
    (WW) fglrx(0): ********************************************* *
    (II) fglrx(0): FBADPhys: 0xc0000000 FBMappedSize: 0x10000000
    (WW) fglrx(0): Failed to set up write-combining range (0xd0000000,0x10000000)
    (II) fglrx(0): FBMM initialized for area (0,0)-(1728,8191)
    (II) fglrx(0): FBMM auto alloc for area (0,0)-(1728,1050) (front color buffer - assumption)
    (II) fglrx(0): Largest offscreen area available: 1728 x 7141
    (==) fglrx(0): Backing store disabled
    (II) Loading extension FGLRXEXTENSION
    (II) Loading extension ATITVOUT
    (**) fglrx(0): DPMS enabled
    (WW) fglrx(0): Textured Video not supported without DRI enabled.
    (II) LoadModule: "glesx"
    (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules//glesx.so

    Let me know if you want to see more of the file.
    I had the same messages in my log...
    If you try
    Code:
    $ modprobe -vf fglrx
    and get something like
    Code:
    install /sbin/lrm-video fglrx
    the solution is to modify the file "/etc/modprobe.d/lrm-video". Comment out the line with fglrx so it looks like
    Code:
    #install fglrx /sbin/lrm-video fglrx $CMDLINE_OPTS
    and reboot.

    I hope it works for you too
    Ren

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •