Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: DRIConf Is Still A Mess & Leaves A Lot To Be Desired

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,138

    Default DRIConf Is Still A Mess & Leaves A Lot To Be Desired

    Phoronix: DRIConf Is Still A Mess & Leaves A Lot To Be Desired

    Frequently brought up within the Phoronix Forums and elsewhere is the lack of a good graphical utility for configuring various elements of the open-source Linux graphics drivers...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ4NzQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    Phoronix: DRIConf Is Still A Mess & Leaves A Lot To Be Desired

    Frequently brought up within the Phoronix Forums and elsewhere is the lack of a good graphical utility for configuring various elements of the open-source Linux graphics drivers...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ4NzQ
    yeh but driconf cant only conf what is available - so why bitch about it ? the mesa stack is very new and the conf app for this will follow


    sometimes i despair at what i read on this site i really do

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by D0pamine View Post
    yeh but driconf cant only conf what is available - so why bitch about it ? the mesa stack is very new and the conf app for this will follow


    sometimes i despair at what i read on this site i really do
    Have you even read the article?
    The latest stable DRIConf release, v0.9.1, took place back in September of 2006. The code hasn't basically been touched in years
    So, do you think we should wait another 7 years until someone implements the available options?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vim_User View Post
    So, do you think we should wait another 7 years until someone implements the available options?
    It's all dynamic - the GUI generates the buttons by asking the driver what options it has. If you want to see the XML yourself, type "xdriinfo options 0", it even includes translations in a few languages.

    So technically it doesn't matter the code is from 2006.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamish Wilson View Post
    It looks nice and is conveniently in the AUR, but it does not fully seem to probe my card properly:



    EDIT: It needs root privileges - but still can't see my temperature, which is strange since it uses lm_sensors.
    The clocks and volts data are in debugfs so it need to be mounted:
    Code:
    mount -t debugfs none /sys/kernel/debug
    and for fstab:
    Code:
    debugfs  /sys/kernel/debug  debugfs  defaults  0  0
    Yes, it use lm_sensors. Today I modified some code responsible for gathering temp info from sensors, so maybe now it will work.
    I can provide support only for Radeons (I have SI in PC and R730 in laptop).

    For the DRI, there is only these options?
    http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ConfigurationOptions/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marazmista View Post
    Yes, it use lm_sensors. Today I modified some code responsible for gathering temp info from sensors, so maybe now it will work.
    Cheers, it now works like a charm, with the right privileges.

    Last edited by Hamish Wilson; 10-17-2013 at 03:28 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    It's all dynamic - the GUI generates the buttons by asking the driver what options it has. If you want to see the XML yourself, type "xdriinfo options 0", it even includes translations in a few languages.

    So technically it doesn't matter the code is from 2006.
    Oh, I have done that already, as I was curious and had a look at the code. I get the astonishing amount of 11 options here on my HD6870, except setting vblank none of them is useful (who the hell needs options like ""A post-processing filter to remove the blue channel").
    That seems to be far from exposing all available options.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,911

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by D0pamine View Post
    yeah but driconf can only configure what is available - so why bitch about it? The mesa stack is very new and the configuration app for this will follow


    sometimes i despair at what i read on this site i really do
    Fixed that up a little bit for you.

    Its a point I've brought up though many times myself though... For multi-monitor setups, the desktop environment settings are perfectly fine. And even BETTER in some ways because drivers are being loaded automatically. So new graphics card? Just plug everything back in, don't have to download new drivers, don't have to learn a new website layout (AMD's used to be a pain in the ass..better now), don't have to learn a new config layout and how to do everything. Just go to your settings, go to display, and set it however it needs to be. You may not even have to change it at all, it may not care about a new graphics card and just keep your old layout.

    Thats multi-monitor. But overclocking/overvolting? (Which needs to get driver support beforehand anyway) no way to do that graphically. AA? No graphical option, you have to edit an environment variable. Controlling 3D settings and favoring performance / looks? No real way to control that at the driver level. driconf probably should get rewritten / cleaned up, with an emphasis on usability first. (Before someone says patches welcome-- Don't think I haven't thought about it, but I gotta refine my GUI skills before doing something like that hah) Same issue happened with Xorg.conf settings, and I hope if Wayland is also giving users that level of control over things that there will be a graphical utility to handle it, instead of a man page and a text editor. Granted, with ini-style configs, Wayland is in a bit of a better position than Xorg was.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,031

    Default

    GPU temperature has not been a problem for me since I have been able to probe my graphics card with lm_sensors. The Xfce sensors applet works with it, and I have all of my device temperatures displayed on my Conky setup on my second head.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    I wonder if anyone noticed this, or does it works the same way as 'merica - people talk about stuff thats pushed through the media instead of what's infront of their noses.
    I am not offending Michael!! But we have what we have, thanks to being ignorant and uninterested. Maybe Stallman is right, its better to restrict self in order to start working on whats worth it compared to accepting compromises...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •