Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Qt 5.2 Is Now Out In Beta Form

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,639

    Default Qt 5.2 Is Now Out In Beta Form

    Phoronix: Qt 5.2 Is Now Out In Beta Form

    Qt 5.2 has been in alpha since the end of September but now Digia has announced the beta release of the Qt 5.2 tool-kit...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ5Mjk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    321

    Default

    *grabs popcorn for the usual trolls*

    Anyway, do you think it would be possible to make a comparison between the different javascript engines ? (Firefox's, Google's, and now Qt's...)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    51

    Default

    The Qt JS engine will probably lose, but that is because it is designed to optimize the QML stuff. Javascript is only a small part of most of the .qml files.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,935

    Default

    I just want a QtCreator compiled against Qt5 so that QtQuick2 projects are supported -LITERALLY- the only thing I care about with the 3.0 update >_>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    I just want a QtCreator compiled against Qt5 so that QtQuick2 projects are supported -LITERALLY- the only thing I care about with the 3.0 update >_>
    QtCreator (2.8.1) package provided by ArchLinux is compiled against Qt5 (5.1.1).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by siavashserver View Post
    QtCreator (2.8.1) package provided by ArchLinux is compiled against Qt5 (5.1.1).
    Might be optional then, because at least Fedora (2.8.0) doesn't allow the creation of QtQuick2 projects, which requires Qt5+. Qt5 is installable but apparently QtCreator wasn't linked AGAINST Qt5 since there's no QtQuick2 support

    EDIT: Check out the comments in: https://bugreports.qt-project.org/br...REATORBUG-7858
    Last edited by Ericg; 10-23-2013 at 11:55 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    204

    Default

    I'm not aware of packaging details. May be you are facing a similar issue like this: http://askubuntu.com/questions/25971...project-dialog

    I mostly use QtCreator with plain C/C++ projects, but here is a few screenshots to show that it's already possible to create and work on QtQuick 2 based projects too. (That's a custom theme and wasn't tuned for QML syntax highlighting, sorry if that hurts eyes)





  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    151

    Default

    No qtwayland for Qt 5.2 ?!?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nuc!eoN View Post
    No qtwayland for Qt 5.2 ?!?
    QtWayland landed in 5.0 o.O

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by siavashserver View Post
    I'm not aware of packaging details. May be you are facing a similar issue like this: http://askubuntu.com/questions/25971...project-dialog

    I mostly use QtCreator with plain C/C++ projects, but here is a few screenshots to show that it's already possible to create and work on QtQuick 2 based projects too. (That's a custom theme and wasn't tuned for QML syntax highlighting, sorry if that hurts eyes)
    Thanks for the like Siavash, that fixed it for me. I'll have to remember that for next time haha

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •