Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: XV for M64/x2300 with ati/radeon driver?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default XV for M64/x2300 with ati/radeon driver?

    I have spent quite some time trying to get xv (textured video) working with a M64/x2300 GPU using the radeon driver from git. Unfortunately I was not very successfull. Now I would like to ask you pros whether this GPU is actually capable of using textured video with the radeon driver or was I just wrong assuming that this GPU belongs to the category r5xx?

    Thanks in advance

    capslock

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by capslock View Post
    I have spent quite some time trying to get xv (textured video) working with a M64/x2300 GPU using the radeon driver from git. Unfortunately I was not very successfull. Now I would like to ask you pros whether this GPU is actually capable of using textured video with the radeon driver or was I just wrong assuming that this GPU belongs to the category r5xx?

    Thanks in advance

    capslock
    That chip should work. What sort of problems are you having?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    That chip should work. What sort of problems are you having?
    My xorg.log says XVideo extension is loaded but on executing xvinfo I just get "no adaptors present".

    I downloaded and built the module on a Debian/sid machine with these commands:

    git-clone git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/driver/xf86-video-ati; cd xf86-video-ati/; git-checkout origin/atombios-support; ./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr/; make

    sudo make install

    I find it strange, that config.log says "It was created by xf86-video-ati configure 6.7.196", since I did a normal git-clone a couple of days ago and I would assume I should get a version 6.8.xxx.

    I have pasted

    Xorg.0.log
    http://pastebin.com/m18e86b92

    and config.log
    http://pastebin.com/m63b76415

    thank you for your help

    capslock

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    In Xorg.0.log I can see that XVideo extension has been loaded but xvinfo gives me "no adaptors present".

    I downloaded and built the module on a Debian/sid box with these commands:

    git-clone git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/driver/xf86-video-ati
    cd xf86-video-ati/; git-checkout origin/atombios-support
    ./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr/; make
    sudo make install

    It is strange that config.log says "It was created by xf86-video-ati configure 6.7.196" although I did a normal git-clone only a couple of days ago and I assume I should get a version 6.8.xxx.

    I pasted my

    Xorg.0.log
    http://pastebin.com/m18e86b92
    and config.log
    http://pastebin.com/m63b76415


    Thank you very much

    capslock

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    That chip should work. What sort of problems are you having?
    In Xorg.0.log I can see that XVideo extension has been loaded but xvinfo gives me "no adaptors present".

    I downloaded and built the module on a Debian/sid box with these commands:

    git-clone git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/driver/xf86-video-ati
    cd xf86-video-ati/; git-checkout origin/atombios-support
    ./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr/; make
    sudo make install

    It is strange that config.log says "It was created by xf86-video-ati configure 6.7.196" although I did a normal git-clone only a couple of days ago and I assume I should get a version 6.8.xxx.

    I pasted my

    Xorg.0.log
    http://pastebin.com/m18e86b92
    and config.log
    http://pastebin.com/m63b76415


    Thank you very much

    capslock

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by capslock View Post
    git-clone git://anongit.freedesktop.org/git/xorg/driver/xf86-video-ati
    cd xf86-video-ati/; git-checkout origin/atombios-support
    The atombios-support branch was merged to master a while ago. that branch is dead at this point. master has everything you need.

    Alex

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Hey capslock, apparently, I have the same problem. The xorg log tells me I'm not using the git versions of either radeon or radeonhd.

    I raised a question in the sidux forums.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •