Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: NVIDIA Still Working On Linux 3.11+ Support

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,294

    Default NVIDIA Still Working On Linux 3.11+ Support

    Phoronix: NVIDIA Still Working On Linux 3.11+ Support

    In mid-October I had written how AMD's Catalyst driver surprisingly beat NVIDIA to modern Linux support. While NVIDIA is usually first to support new kernel releases, AMD won in shipping "out of the box" Linux 3.11 and 3.12 compatibility. NVIDIA, however, has devised a workaround and will be coming up with a more proper long-term solution...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTUwMTk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Middle finger by Linus still holds true.

    Nvidia need this function, and they had all the time in the world to voice their needs... Where where they?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,517

    Default

    Well, at least we now have a stopgap measure that is more or less safe to use. Just in time for openSUSE 13.1, too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    What are people doing on Ubuntu 13.10?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default Am I missing something or should the article say 3.12 ?

    nvidia blob working fine for me on Arch Linux with 3.11

    Code:
    me@upstairs ~ $ uname -a
    Linux upstairs 3.11.6-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 18 23:22:36 CEST 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    
    me@upstairs ~ $ pacman -Qi nvidia
    Name           : nvidia
    Version        : 325.15-10
    Description    : NVIDIA drivers for linux
    Architecture   : x86_64
    URL            : http://www.nvidia.com/
    Licences       : custom
    Groups         : None
    Provides       : None
    Depends On     : linux>=3.11  linux<3.12  nvidia-libgl  nvidia-utils=325.15
    Optional Deps  : None
    Required By    : None
    Optional For   : None
    Conflicts With : nvidia-96xx  nvidia-173xx
    Replaces       : None
    Installed Size : 3963.00 KiB
    Packager       : Tobias Powalowski <tpowa@archlinux.org>
    Build Date     : Mon 14 Oct 2013 07:39:41 BST
    Install Date   : Tue 15 Oct 2013 09:29:00 BST
    Install Reason : Explicitly installed
    Install Script : Yes
    Validated By   : Signature
    
    me@upstairs ~ $ glxinfo |grep "vendor string"
    server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
    client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
    OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Using this patch I presume:
    Code:
    --- a/kernel/nv-linux.h
    +++ b/kernel/nv-linux.h
    @@ -957,7 +957,7 @@ static inline int nv_execute_on_all_cpus(void (*func)(void *info), void *info)
     #endif
     
     #if !defined(NV_VMWARE)
    -#define NV_NUM_PHYSPAGES                num_physpages
    +#define NV_NUM_PHYSPAGES                totalram_pages
     #define NV_GET_CURRENT_PROCESS()        current->tgid
     #define NV_IN_ATOMIC()                  in_atomic()
     #define NV_LOCAL_BH_DISABLE()           local_bh_disable()
    with fuzz +1 line

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Meanwhile Catalyst beta still builds fine on the latest 3.12-rc7 kernel.

    So glad I went back to AMD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Lots of posts so far criticizing Nvidia for this, but I can't imagine too many people are affected by this. Anyone with 128+ GB is most likely on an LTS kernel, and with 3.2 EOL'ing in 2016, they have plenty of time. (Interestingly, 3.4 EOLs next year and 3.10 in 2015 - does anyone know how LTS periods are decided?).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Torrington, Ct. USA
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Dang, my laptop with 129GB of RAM is screwed...

    On a more serious note, at least we now know what the hold up was. Most major distros already had their own stopgap patches in place for new/upcoming releases, so this is a non-issue for most people. Still, it will be nice to see a proper solution somewhere down the line, not that the average user is going to reach over 128GB of RAM any time soon, or even a rich user for that matter.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirdilznik View Post
    Dang, my laptop with 129GB of RAM is screwed...

    On a more serious note, at least we now know what the hold up was. Most major distros already had their own stopgap patches in place for new/upcoming releases, so this is a non-issue for most people. Still, it will be nice to see a proper solution somewhere down the line, not that the average user is going to reach over 128GB of RAM any time soon, or even a rich user for that matter.
    Yeah, doubt any home computer user has that much RAM. Most I seen for a personal home computer was 16GB. Even if they were running a home server, still wouldn't need 100+GB.

    I've only seen datacenters run that amount of RAM since they need it.

    Regardless, supporting latest is nice. 3.12 is so much better than most previous versions I've used.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •