Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Any timeline on RadeonHD 3D/Xv support?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default Any timeline on RadeonHD 3D/Xv support?

    First let me apologize for my impatience... I like RadeonHD driver a lot. It's clean, fast and stable. However, currently I have to stay with fglrx driver since I can only use x11 output to watch video, and it gets very slow if I try to read a webpage with a lot of flash animations. It has been some time since last exciting git commit (EXA 2D acceleration) in radeonhd, and people keep talking about "it's not very difficult to port radeon 3D part into radeonhd". So, is there any time line we could follow? Or any "hidden" progress we did not catch?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    319

    Default

    what card have you got? if you have an R500 try radeon.

    If you have R600, well radeonhd won't get 3D/Xv support before radeon and radeon won't get it until the docs are released + a few months to figure out how it actually works.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default

    In fact I tried radeon, but it keeps hard lock my laptop if I enable "EXA". The xv output somehow requires that option so it's kind of dilemma...

    BTW, I have a X1300 on Lenovo T60
    Last edited by fatfatwolf; 04-01-2008 at 03:37 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    319

    Default

    I'm working on this at the moment, it dies on my rv515 card here, so I'll hopefully get something in the next couple of days.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    319

    Default

    actually you probably tried it without loading a drm.

    The non-drm cases aren't that well tested...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by airlied View Post
    actually you probably tried it without loading a drm.

    The non-drm cases aren't that well tested...
    I think that actually IS the case...

    I'm gonna pull the latest mesa git and try again...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,574

    Default

    You probably want mesa/mesa *and* mesa/drm - there have been recent changes in both.
    Last edited by bridgman; 04-01-2008 at 12:32 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Just installed drm/mesa from git and it solved the problem. That's great~~~ Thanks guys for your hard work!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,676

    Default

    Are the changes in mesa 7.0.3?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,574

    Default

    The changes are in the mesa/drm master but I don't think drm is included in the mesa release.

    I believe the actual mesa/mesa R5xx 3D support is still off in a branch, so it would not be in 7.03.
    Last edited by bridgman; 04-06-2008 at 10:45 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •