Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 On Linux

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoseJX View Post
    Can you explain why? I'm currently running a fanless GT210 in my HTPC which is a much weaker card and it works great.
    I tried the 610 with linux and windows, and my experience was not good, the video playback wasn't totally fluent and the unity/gnome shell, wasn't good, ( asus gt 610 ddr3). With windows, mpc media player wans't fluent if I used madr for anime. After I buyed a gt630 and the things changed.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madjr View Post
    The GT 630 for like $10 or $15 more is better option IMO.
    It's probably also more power hungry and / or noisy.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    537

    Default

    I am still unconvinced about the usefulness of a low-end dedicated graphics card like the GT610 when the onboard graphics on AMD's APUs and Intel's CPUs have reached a point where they are good enough for low-end gaming and still consume lesser power.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shmerl View Post
    It's probably also more power hungry and / or noisy.
    This is possible but on GT630 (fermi 40nm (96 shaders) based around 50w) on my case i have zotac geforce GT630 (Kepler (384 shaders) GK208 28nm) zone edition passive, this card consume 25w but GT610 (GT 520 (Fermi 40nm) Renamed) consume 30w


  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonadow View Post
    I am still unconvinced about the usefulness of a low-end dedicated graphics card like the GT610 when the onboard graphics on AMD's APUs and Intel's CPUs have reached a point where they are good enough for low-end gaming and still consume lesser power.
    People buy these cards because most of the integrated graphics doesnít support 2560x1600 or 2560 1440 resolution. I donít think any intel cpu supports dual link. For amd, their apus support it, but motherboard also needs to support it to work. I would never buy this card as I can just pay little bit more to get much better card (performance wise), but some people just want their displays to show stuff. They donít care about how much fps they can get in the game.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shmerl View Post
    Evga version of 610 is even cheaper on Newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130815
    I do not recommend that if you want to run it with nouveau: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=70566 . Altough I do have an aged mobo, I recommend you do not purchase that specific card.

    Furthermore, the article states that some results will be worse with nouveau. That is true, but the nouveau driver runs UrbanTerror quite decent actually. The only thing that is not working is adjusting the brightness.

    But for now, I'm stuck with the blob .

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonadow View Post
    I am still unconvinced about the usefulness of a low-end dedicated graphics card like the GT610 when the onboard graphics on AMD's APUs and Intel's CPUs have reached a point where they are good enough for low-end gaming and still consume lesser power.
    Yes, I would agree. I'm looking at upgrading an old antec fusion HPTC that has an nvidia 8600gt silent and amd 6000 x 2 (125W - Yes I know, it was lying around) to an AMD A10-6700 (65w), 8gb 1866mhz mem and a FM2+ mobo with just using the on chip graphics. The Radeon HD 8670D I believe gives roughly nvidia 640 performance and the CPU is roughly I3 ivy bridge. It will be used for some moderate gaming by my daughter (eg minecraft, sims 3 etc) and I was wondering if anyone has built anything similar and what are their thoughts ?

    NB my budget is about 240 euros

    Thanks

  8. #18

    Default Amd 5450

    I was glad to see this vs. the 5450 from AMD, which I use in my downstairs "steam box." I mainly play the less demanding games on that (i.e. Super Meat Boy, etc). That 5450 was purchased 2 years ago, so this is funny to see vs. a "new" card.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pandev92 View Post
    I recommend minimum, the nvidia gt620 for an htcp, the gt610 is a completely waste of money.
    Not necessarily. If you are after just great HD playback, proper working HD audio and a passive solution the GT-520/GT-610 fits the bill perfectly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •