Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: CMI 8788 soundcard - Asus Xonar D2

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    107

    Default

    http://www.alsa-project.org/main/ind...ClemensLadisch

    The support for Xonar DX was added after Alsa 1.0.16, maybe you could not avoid compiling afterall.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465

    Default

    if what marakaid said doesn't work:
    Firstly - are you in the audio group? (not sure if it's the default for ubuntu or not)
    Secondly - try
    Code:
    lsmod | grep snd_virtuoso
    and post the results; if you get nothing say so.
    Last edited by Aradreth; 05-13-2008 at 04:55 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aradreth View Post
    if what marakaid said doesn't work:
    Firstly - are you in the audio group? (not sure if it's the default for ubuntu or not)
    Secondly - try
    Code:
    lsmod | grep snd_virtuoso
    and post the results; if you get nothing say so.
    Not sure what you mean by audio group but there where no results after I did this lsmod | grep snd_virtuoso

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paroxysm View Post
    Not sure what you mean by audio group but there where no results after I did this lsmod | grep snd_virtuoso
    Well that explains it.
    Code:
    sudo modprobe snd-virtuoso
    then run alsamixer and make sure nothing is muted and try to play a wav file
    edit: any audio file you should do really.
    edit2: incase you are wondering the command I gave you should have printed something like:
    snd_virtuoso 8324 3
    snd_oxygen_lib 29184 1 snd_virtuoso
    snd 61000 16 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_ virtuoso,snd_oxygen_lib,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu4 01_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device

    if the driver had been loaded and functioning correctly.
    Last edited by Aradreth; 05-13-2008 at 05:04 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    nothing printed at all after the command

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paroxysm View Post
    nothing printed at all after the command
    If it the modprobe works correctly nothing will print; sorry should have made that clear.
    Edit: I really need to read stuff before I hit post/save etc. in my above post the stuff printed after edit2 is what lsmod ... would have printed. >.<

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    ok still nothing/ no sound but I do see this after the sudo modprobe snd-virtuoso command
    snd_virtuoso 10564 0
    snd_oxygen_lib 34176 1 snd_virtuoso
    snd 70856 16 snd_virtuoso,snd_oxygen_lib,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_hd a_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_hwde p,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,sn d_timer,snd_seq_device

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    hmm ok I think that I just might try to reinstall Ubuntu and see if it well get this working but for some reason I don't think that it will

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465

    Default

    EDIT: Oh wow it just occurred to me, do you have onboard audio as well (does it work)?
    Edit2: Don't give up quite yet; the driver is loaded now it's just muted/needs a reboot I think (after doing point 1 and 2 on my list)
    edit3: you do have onboard audio; could you give that a try? (snd_hda_intel is a common onboard audio driver)

    Try
    Code:
    aplay -l
    in the shell if nothing is printed then the sound is probably just muted. (might be to do with pulseaudio)
    try alsamixer once more just incase if it still doesn't work


    1-
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/modules
    and add snd-virtuoso to the bottom of the file.
    2 -
    Code:
    grep 'audio' /etc/group
    grep 'pulse' /etc/group
    if your user name isn't there (audio/pulse repectively) do
    Code:
    sudo gpasswd -a username audio pulse
    (if you are just missing one only use the one missing)
    3 - see if there is a file called asound.conf in the /etc/ directory if not
    Code:
    nano ~/.asoundrc
    and add
    Code:
    pcm.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    pcm.!default {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.!default {
       type pulse
    }
    reboot and then check the sound isn't muted and try playing a sound.
    Last edited by Aradreth; 05-13-2008 at 05:58 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aradreth View Post
    EDIT: Oh wow it just occurred to me, do you have onboard audio as well (does it work)?
    Edit2: Don't give up quite yet; the driver is loaded now it's just muted/needs a reboot I think (after doing point 1 and 2 on my list)
    edit3: you do have onboard audio; could you give that a try? (snd_hda_intel is a common onboard audio driver)

    Try
    Code:
    aplay -l
    in the shell if nothing is printed then the sound is probably just muted. (might be to do with pulseaudio)
    try alsamixer once more just incase if it still doesn't work


    1-
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/modules
    and add snd-virtuoso to the bottom of the file.
    2 -
    Code:
    grep 'audio' /etc/group
    grep 'pulse' /etc/group
    if your user name isn't there (audio/pulse repectively) do
    Code:
    sudo gpasswd -a username audio pulse
    (if you are just missing one only use the one missing)
    3 - see if there is a file called asound.conf in the /etc/ directory if not
    Code:
    nano ~/.asoundrc
    and add
    Code:
    pcm.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    pcm.!default {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.!default {
       type pulse
    }
    reboot and then check the sound isn't muted and try playing a sound.
    ok I do have onboard sound and it does work I just turned it off via bios
    and this is the outcome of
    Code:
     aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    then I added
    Code:
    snd-virtuoso
    to the end of the sudo nano /etc/modules
    the output of grep 'audio' /etc/group

    audio:x:29ulse,dallas
    'pulse' /etc/group
    audio:x:29ulse,dallas
    pulse:x:116:
    pulse-access:x:117:
    pulse-rt:x:118:
    I had to
    Code:
    nano ~/.asoundrc
    and add
    Code:
    pcm.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    pcm.!default {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.!default {
       type pulse
    }
    the I rebooted but still no sound . now does my name have to be at the end of these also pulse:x:116:
    pulse-access:x:117:
    pulse-rt:x:118: ?
    Last edited by Paroxysm; 05-13-2008 at 06:35 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •