Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 82

Thread: AMD Catalyst 13.12 GPU Driver For Linux Released

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,387

    Default AMD Catalyst 13.12 GPU Driver For Linux Released

    Phoronix: AMD Catalyst 13.12 GPU Driver For Linux Released

    Nearly one month after the last Catalyst 13.11 beta release, the Catalyst 13.12 Linux driver has finally surfaced. For ending out the year we have this last major AMD Catalyst Linux update with no new features but there are many bug-fixes...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU0NzI

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    248

    Default

    So... where is the driver? Unless I'm just blind, I don't see a link for it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    69

    Default

    On AMD site I see only 13.11 beta available to download.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    85

    Default

    AMD does this every driver release.

    We'll get some kind of announcement, then their site takes like a month to actually have a link to the download.
    If we're lucky someone in some random forum/website will find a link somewhere else ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    "[385704]: Black window when run glxgears with TWM"
    Great

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Overall if I counted well 21 defects were fixed and 19 new ones were raised on "Unofficial AMD Bugzilla". Based on the statistic they need to work very hard to clear the backlog. Furthermore I did not see any new feature update.
    Does anybody know
    Why is the unofficial AMD Bugzilla commented by AMD?
    From where are the AMD defect numbers coming?
    They need to be more communicative.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Managed to get the link: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/am...x86.x86_64.zip

    You'll need a download manager (couldn't get wget to work), or referral spoofer. Here's a quick guide I wrote up for a spoofer on Chrome.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leonmaxx View Post
    On AMD site I see only 13.11 beta available to download.
    Code:
    wget --referer='http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Linux+x86' http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/amd-catalyst-13.12-linux-x86.x86_64.zip

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    248

    Default

    I got this error in make.log on Xubuntu 13.10 with these drivers:

    Code:
    DKMS make.log for fglrx-13.251 for kernel 3.11.0-14-generic (x86_64)
    Thu Dec 19 03:06:45 EST 2013
    AMD kernel module generator version 2.1
    doing Makefile based build for kernel 2.6.x and higher
    rm -rf *.c *.h *.o *.ko *.a .??* *.symvers
    make -C /lib/modules/3.11.0-14-generic/build SUBDIRS=/var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.11.0-14-generic'
      CC [M]  /var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/firegl_public.o
      CC [M]  /var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.o
    /var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.c: In function ‘KCL_ACPI_ParseTable’:
    /var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.c:999:5: warning: passing argument 1 of ‘(acpi_status (*)(u32,  void *, void *))handler’ makes integer from pointer without a cast [enabled by default]
         ((acpi_table_handler)handler)(hdr);
         ^
    /var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.c:999:5: note: expected ‘u32’ but argument is of type ‘struct acpi_table_header *’
    /var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.c:999:5: error: too few arguments to function ‘(acpi_status (*)(u32,  void *, void *))handler’
    make[2]: *** [/var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x/kcl_acpi.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/var/lib/dkms/fglrx/13.251/build/2.6.x] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.11.0-14-generic'
    make: *** [kmod_build] Error 2
    build failed with return value 2
    13.11 9.4 beta drivers seem to be fine though

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    542

    Default

    Are the Dota2 fixes new in this version, or just the same Source fixes done in the latest beta?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •