Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: New RadeonHD driver and 3870 x2

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    12

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    You could try adding a

    ChipID 0x9501

    override in the Device section and add your 950F in fglrxko_pci_ids.h - this file is pretty simple. Maybe you get it working then just with unsupported ATI watermark. A more brutal way would be changing fglrx_drv.so

    sed -i 's/0x9501/0x950F/' fglrx_drv.so

    But I guess you need to patch the other header file too, if you want it easy use the same sed command on it. If you are really lucky that works... 0x9501 is standard 3870.
    Hey.

    I've tried this on my Gentoo amd64. Unfortunately it had no effect - still the dreaded no screens found, no device etc. Would you know of other checks the driver may be doing? (and of other hacks )

    Thanks

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I tried too, and still does not work heh

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,646

    Default

    Did you recompile the kernel module after the change of the header file?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    It`s not working on Mandriva so I have installed openSuSE and it is working , I just had to put chipId in xorg.conf and it is ok now Thank you very much

    P.S.
    I have a in a bottom right corner AMD Logo and it says Unsupported hardware, is there any chance to remove it

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,646

    Default

    Well I patched out the complete logo code until I discovered that in most cases there is a more easy fix - just to reuse files (in /etc/ati) from other drivers. In your case you would need a logo hack, but will not look into that. Currently I do not even put my old ATI card back in my pc, the new 8800 GTS is just too nice

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    12

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by gotthard View Post
    It`s not working on Mandriva so I have installed openSuSE and it is working , I just had to put chipId in xorg.conf and it is ok now
    Unfortunately I have a working gentoo system for like 3 years, so I will not switch distributions. Did you notice anything relevant between Mandriva and OpenSuSE that could help on Gentoo?

    What I did was:
    1. sed'ed the fglrx_drv.so from the X libs.
    2. changed the header in the fglrx module to contain that hardware id (also compiled and installed the module)
    3. started X with ChipID=9501 and without. (Maybe I should try with ChipID=950F?)

    Did I miss anything of relevance?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,646

    Default

    Well when you use sed you can not use the chip id override. In that case you have to use it "pure". Or dont sed the fglrx.ko (just reinstall driver) and use chip id override.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs up

    Thanks, Kano, for the quick and helpful reply. I have XVideo back!!! *cheering*

    I dare to contradict - using the ChipID override (probably correctly this time) and the sed'ed drivers it worked, using ChipID 0x9501. I guess I may have messed up the ChipID command (or the BusID etc) in Xorg.conf the first time around.

    However, I am now at the logo phase - I have browsed the files in /etc/ati, but haven't found anything that would look like a logo-related setting.

    Any hints?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,646

    Default

    Well if you want to do what I did before use objdump -d fglrx_drv.so and see what you find. I have absolutely not time/lust to put my ati card back into my pc. Maybe if it would be my x2 card, but not for a stupid X700 SE...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Timisoara, Romania
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Well if you want to do what I did before use objdump -d fglrx_drv.so and see what you find. I have absolutely not time/lust to put my ati card back into my pc. Maybe if it would be my x2 card, but not for a stupid X700 SE...
    I will definitely try, as soon as I get back into town. Probably, I will ask for further insight since I haven't yet heard of objdump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •