Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: GTK3 Version Of Firefox Up For Fedora Testing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,770

    Default GTK3 Version Of Firefox Up For Fedora Testing

    Phoronix: GTK3 Version Of Firefox Up For Fedora Testing

    It's taking a long time of the GTK3 port of Mozilla Firefox to be completed, but it's now been made a bit easier for those wanting to test out GTK3 Firefox on Fedora Linux...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU2OTk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Can we please talk about how bullshit this is? I love Mozilla and Firefox but it's not like there's a million lines of GTK code in there; what the hell constitutes 3 years of porting?

    Also a good question: what does plugin-container have to do with GTK? Rather, what does NPAPI have to do with GTK that it cannot be built without linking to GTK2?
    (at least that's what I've gotten from a brief look at the bug linked in the article)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daktyl198 View Post
    Also a good question: what does plugin-container have to do with GTK? Rather, what does NPAPI have to do with GTK that it cannot be built without linking to GTK2?
    (at least that's what I've gotten from a brief look at the bug linked in the article)
    I think it more has to do with Flash being linked to GTK2; currently it is not possible to use GTK2 and GTK3 in the same process, thus Flash won't work with a GTK3 built of firefox where the plugin lives in the same process as the browser gui.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=624422
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...id=627699#c275

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,549

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oleid View Post
    I think it more has to do with Flash being linked to GTK2; currently it is not possible to use GTK2 and GTK3 in the same process, thus Flash won't work with a GTK3 built of firefox where the plugin lives in the same process as the browser gui.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=624422
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...id=627699#c275
    Interesting. I never noticed that, but yes, flash-player requires libgtk-x11-2.0 at the moment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oleid View Post
    I think it more has to do with Flash being linked to GTK2; currently it is not possible to use GTK2 and GTK3 in the same process, thus Flash won't work with a GTK3 built of firefox where the plugin lives in the same process as the browser gui.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=624422
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...id=627699#c275
    I could-of swore plugin-container was already a separate process... *shrug*

    At this point, I'd go for a Qt-based Firefox if it meant faster porting to newer versions :/
    (btw, what versions of Qt does flash support?)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,549

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daktyl198 View Post
    I could-of swore plugin-container was already a separate process... *shrug*

    At this point, I'd go for a Qt-based Firefox if it meant faster porting to newer versions :/
    (btw, what versions of Qt does flash support?)
    As far as I understand it, it's Flash that requires GTK2. No idea why, though. So that means Flash doesn't support any versions of Qt, and only GTK2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daktyl198 View Post
    I could-of swore plugin-container was already a separate process... *shrug*

    At this point, I'd go for a Qt-based Firefox if it meant faster porting to newer versions :/
    (btw, what versions of Qt does flash support?)
    IIRC, Epiphany, the GNOME Web Browser had the same issue that Mozilla has now - flash player couldn't be loaded. The solution was WebKit2 seperate plugin process architecture, where they link plugin process to GTK+2 and libXt and library in some way gets what is necessarry from the web process itself. But still, that wouldn't work on Wayland, at least not without XWayland because of directy dependency on libXwhatever and libgdk-2.0-x11

    As for Firefox, plugin-container is indeed a split process, but it currently uses the same library the browser does - libxul.so. They would need:

    a) to both link to gtk+2 and gtk+3, in order for plugin container to work correctly (which is impossible because of reasons mentioned above)
    b) to rewrite plugin-container to be a standalone binary, without any dependency on libxul.so
    Last edited by Krejzi; 01-13-2014 at 04:15 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daktyl198 View Post
    I could-of swore plugin-container was already a separate process... *shrug*

    At this point, I'd go for a Qt-based Firefox if it meant faster porting to newer versions :/
    (btw, what versions of Qt does flash support?)
    You still need Gtk2 because the shitty old Flash needs it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    33

    Default

    What? Are people still using Flash?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    803

    Default

    Steve Jobs was right: the flash devs are lazy.
    Not only didn't they bother making flash toolkit independent, but they don't even bother supporting newer toolkit versions.

    On the other hand, there's Google's PPAPI plugin api, which dilutes any type of arguing in favor or against flash's support of other toolkits.

    I don't know what to think. Firefox should be smarter and move to Qt5 which will support wayland.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •