Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Can't create //usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/fglrx_dri.so: File exists

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baskin View Post
    If i change to /lib/modules/fglrx and execute ./make_install.sh i get:

    FATAL:Error inserting fglrx(/lib/modules/2.6.27.23-0.1.default/kernel/drivers/char/drm/fglrx.ko): Operation not permitted
    All executed as root.
    A few things to consider. First either with the newer kernels or all 64 bits (I'm not sure) the files are put at /lib/modules/.../drivers/gpu, so this might explain install error.

    Second, the autoinstaller needs 32 bit libraries to install, even on a 64 bit system. I haven't got fglrx working yet on a 64 bit system.

    Did you compile your own kernel and enable the msi options?

    Maybe PAT with your hardware might be issue.

    What is your hardware and linux distribution

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Syros, Greece
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I have made a successful installation on an identical system (regarding the software)

    I'm running opensuse 11.1 64bit with the default kernel and my VGA is an HD4670.

    The successful install was made on a HD3200.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by forum1793 View Post
    A few things to consider. First either with the newer kernels or all 64 bits (I'm not sure) the files are put at /lib/modules/.../drivers/gpu, so this might explain install error.

    Second, the autoinstaller needs 32 bit libraries to install, even on a 64 bit system. I haven't got fglrx working yet on a 64 bit system.
    Update; I did just compile a 2.6.27.25 kernel for slackware64-current.
    The catalyst autoinstaller 9-6 worked fine, no patching required. This means 32 bit libs are not needed or slackware64-current now has them.

    For the 2.6.27.25 kernel the autoinstaller puts fgrlx in /lib.../drivers/char/drm and not /lib.../drivers/gpu, although it probably doesn't matter.

    My system is hd3200 (780g)

    edit: removed comment about sound over hdmi not working. I forgot to unmute it. alsamixer -c1. Too many versions running.

    You may wish to compare your kernel config files between the two machines.

    But, if all other things are equal to your two systems, I would think the problem must be due to the graphics card and the driver parts unique to it.
    Last edited by forum1793; 06-20-2009 at 05:32 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Syros, Greece
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I have made a successful install by generating distribution specific rpm from the installer.

    The produced rpm package is installed correctly without errors (at least as far i can see) but when i try to execute:

    Code:
    sax2 -r -m 0=fglrx
    i'm getting a black screen and the system freezes (needs hard reset).

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,543

    Default

    Did you run sax2 before or after aticonfig --initial ?

    My guess is that you don't need sax2 if you run aticonfig --initial (and you *should* run aticonfig --initial)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Syros, Greece
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Did you run sax2 before or after aticonfig --initial ?

    My guess is that you don't need sax2 if you run aticonfig --initial (and you *should* run aticonfig --initial)
    I always run "aticonfig --initial" before trying to ran sax2.

    Also without running sax2 after "aticonfig --initial", i have the same result. Black screen and the system freezes.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Syros, Greece
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I have the exact same behavior (blank screen and system freeze) on a fresh installed Linux Mint 7 x86_64.

    It seems that something is broken in the fglrx driver regarding HD4670 hardware.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,543

    Default

    It's more likely to be specific to the distro or system than the hardware, FWIW.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    208

    Default

    What is your hardware anyway?

    For distribution, maybe consider: ubuntu, fedora, slackware. Seem to be more users of these.

    What is sax2 anyway?

    Bridgman: I never knowingly run aticonfig --initial. Maybe the catalyst autoinstaller runs it? After I install new catalyst, I review xorg.conf, see nothing new, and copy my old one back over. Why should this be run?

    Bridgman: does his post #10 give any clue?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,543

    Default

    Sax2 is a utility for configuring and managing graphics subsystems.

    http://en.opensuse.org/SaX2

    I don't know exactly what aticonfig --initial does but it seems to be the only "absolute must do" stop in our installation instructions, and whenver I talk to our devs one of the first questions they ask is "did they run aticonfig properly ?".

    Post 10 goes to a level of detail I don't really know with fglrx; probably should get it into a bugzilla ticket so the devs can see it.
    Last edited by bridgman; 06-25-2009 at 11:44 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •