Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Video playback issues with X200 with 8.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pto. La Cruz, Venezuela
    Posts
    44

    Default Video playback issues with X200 with 8.04

    Machine Specs:
    Intel Pentium D 805 @ 2.66 Ghz.
    Intel D101GGC Mother Board
    1 Gig RAM
    Integrated X200 (256 Mb Memory Allocated in BIOS)
    Genius SoundMaker Value 5.1 SoundCard
    OS: Tested with Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon & Ubuntu Hardy Heron & Opensuse 10.3

    Tested XVideo video output with Option "VideoOverlay" "on" in xorg.conf:
    The scrambling screen bug continues to happen, and noticeable tearing is happening in the upper section of the video playback area.

    Tested Xvideo output with Options "TexturedVideo" and "TexturedVideoSync" both on in xorg.conf:
    No scrambling, but horizontal and vertical movements leave shades and movement seems unnatural.

    Tested OpenGL output:
    No OpenGL output video playback is possible with VLC. With Xine and MPlayer video playback is possible, but tearing is noticeable in the upper section of the video playback area, even with VSync activated from CCCLE.

    Bridgman, if you see this please help with these issues or notify the other programmers.
    Last edited by linzerd; 04-30-2008 at 01:31 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    321

    Default

    one quick question.... do you have compiz enabled... try disabling it since that is the cause for this bug.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Posts
    900

    Default

    Compiz or Composite (the extension)? Yes Compiz causes flickering video playback that when you revert back to kwm or metacity goes away (when using XVideo, image is fine with xshm), or are you implying that the composite extension may also be responsible for this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,104

    Default

    Any form of desktop composition causes this, not just Compiz. KDE/XFCE transparency effects are affected as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mexico City, Mexico
    Posts
    900

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    Any form of desktop composition causes this, not just Compiz. KDE/XFCE transparency effects are affected as well.
    Indeed. I had problems with visualization software being all messed up and some features not working as they should, and I had to disable all forms of composition (compiz, AIGLX and Composite) in order to have these applications to work correctly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pto. La Cruz, Venezuela
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Compiz is not activated in my system, i tried it with several distros and the effect is the same. No compositing manager is active in my Lintel machine. ATM this is my xorg.conf file (and the problem continues to happen):


    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "es"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Last edited by linzerd; 04-30-2008 at 09:39 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by linzerd View Post

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    You could do without the bolded sections, so remove them if you want to clean up your xorg.conf a bit. I have a similar chip on my Acer laptop, and only get flickering video when composition managers are on. As for the video tearing on the top of the playback area, I have it as well, on both my HD2900XT and 200M. Last time I got any straight answer on the subject I was told that "this is not what we experience in our machines, but we'll look into it". Granted it's not as bad as it used to be, but the problem is still there.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pto. La Cruz, Venezuela
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Look good in my first post, i don't experience screen flickering, using VideoOverlay, my video "jumps" up and down the video playback area... or as i call it, it scrambles making video watching too uncomfortable with XVideo output and VideoOverlay option turned on

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •