Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ATI Proprietary/Fglrx not working if DRI is on... [X1600 Pro]

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default ATI Proprietary/Fglrx not working if DRI is on... [X1600 Pro (RV530) / fglrx 8.476]

    Hi, I just installed Gentoo Linux in my Desktop PC (I were using it on my laptop for years) and I found a little problem:

    I cant start X with DRI activated... I were trying different configs in the last 2 days but I got crazy...
    It only works with fglrx/ATI Proprietary if I set in the device section "NoDRI" and don't works 3D Acceleration.
    If I try to use with DRI ON when X start it gets blocked and the screen is black, I have to use SysRq to Reboot the system (or hard reset...)
    I tried with radeonhd too but I think that with those drivers I can't enable 3D Acceleration...

    Note: I have in the config files the Secondary adapter but I tried too without it.

    Here I put the different configs that I tried:
    Xorg.conf - Radeonhd No 3D Accel. - Working (Using now)
    Xorg.conf - Fglrx No 3D Accel. - NoDRI - Working...
    Xorg.conf - Fglrx DRI ON - Not Working...

    I tried them with xorg 7.2 & 7.3 and xorg-server 1.3.0.0 & 1.4.0.90

    Lspci, Xorg version, xorg-server version, and other stuff...
    Mai-chan sergio # lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV530 [Radeon X1600]
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV530 [Radeon X1600] (Secondary)

    02:02.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
    02:02.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
    02:02.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)
    02:09.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 13)

    Mai-chan sergio # eix xorg-x11
    [I] x11-base/xorg-x11
    Available versions: 7.2 (~)7.3
    Installed versions: 7.3(10:38:52 02/05/08)

    Mai-chan sergio # eix xorg-server
    [I] x11-base/xorg-server
    Available versions: 1.3.0.0-r4 1.3.0.0-r5 (~)1.4.0.90-r3
    Installed versions: 1.4.0.90-r3(10:37:58 02/05/08)

    [I] x11-drivers/ati-drivers (fglrx)
    Available versions: 8.27.10-r1 (~)8.28.8 8.32.5 (~)8.33.6 (~)8.33.6-r1 (~)8.34.8 8.35.5 (~)8.36.5 (~)8.37.6 (~)8.37.6-r1 8.39.4 8.40.4 [M](~)8.42.3 (~)8.433 (~)8.443.1-r1 (~)8.452 (~)8.455.2 (~)8.455.2-r1 8.471.3 (~)8.476
    Installed versions: 8.476(10:45:38 02/05/08)(

    Mai-chan sergio # uname -a
    Linux Mai-chan 2.6.24-gentoo-r6 #2 SMP Thu May 1 18:26:45 CEST 2008 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
    Thanks in advance.

    P.D: I read in other thread that with radeon driver and lastest mesa/drm I can get 3D, anyone knows if it works?
    Last edited by [SkG]; 05-02-2008 at 07:36 AM. Reason: uname added

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    I see AGP in the lspci - so assume this is an AGP card.

    If so this could well be the problem. I have a 1600pro with 512 mem and I either get a black screen or no 3D unless I set the aperture/gart size in bios to 512.

    If you can't fix by setting gart older drivers <= 8.40.4 may work.

    P.D: I read in other thread that with radeon driver and lastest mesa/drm I can get 3D, anyone knows if it works?
    They don't work for me and 3D is only basic anyway. The problem for our cards is that they have a pcie>agp chip and the foss drivers/drm don't handle this yet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I cant change that in the bios, I tried it. I'll try with those old drivers thx a lot.
    Since I started with this problem I tried thousands of configs X_X

    If that really works... TXH A LOT!!!

    P.D: I tried drm/mesa git and dont works, that could be the thing that you say, the fuck*** chip...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    The max AGP Aperture Size that I can set is 256 =( and with 8.40.4 continue the problem, the only thing that i can try is to downgrade my kernel and try lower version of the drivers...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [SkG] View Post
    The max AGP Aperture Size that I can set is 256 =( and with 8.40.4 continue the problem, the only thing that i can try is to downgrade my kernel and try lower version of the drivers...
    That's a shame - although 256 has worked for someone who posted on here.

    If the older drivers don't work it may not even be the same problem, maybe something to do with 64bit or your xorg version. One thing you could try - just with with the older drivers, is blacklisting intel-agp (I guess) in /etc/modprobe.conf to see if that makes any difference.

    If you have tried many different configs use a minimal one, boot using RadeonHD and as root run

    /usr/share/ati/fglrx-uninstall.sh
    and then
    rm -r /etc/ati

    which should let you have a clean start next time you install.
    When you install again check

    /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log

    to make sure that the kernel module built OK then run aticonfig --initial and reboot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hmmm, I think that I compiled my kernel with intel-agp, but not as a module... then i'll try with the older drivers (making a clean install of them) and without intel-apg.

    Thx.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •