Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: recommended MB for phenom?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default recommended MB for phenom?

    I'm about to build a new server for high-performance computing use. I'm planning on a phenom, and am wondering what is the best chipset today, and what would be a good MB.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    High Performance? Well even a Q6600 ist faster than every available Phenom - and thats not even OC.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    High Performance? Well even a Q6600 ist faster than every available Phenom - and thats not even OC.
    I believe that memory bandwidth may be the most important issue in my work. I'm under the impression that amd is doing well here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,162

    Default

    The 2nd generation AM2+ motherboards are coming very soon (790FX/SB750), I would wait a bit for them to arrive (~ 2-3 weeks I guess). The SB750 is able to clock the Phenom even further if you're interested in overclocking.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Well I just got a Asus M3N-HT Deluxe Mempipe in on Saturday. Took the Phenom 9850 off the Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 which maxed out @ 2800 Mhz overclocking and slapped it on the Asus using the same ram, powersupply, videocard, cpu and heatsink. So far up to 3300 Mhz stable and still pushing it further. Gonna try the 6400+ BE on it next to see how far that can be pushed. Could only get about a 100 Mhz bump OCing with it on the Gigabyte.
    Last edited by deanjo; 04-21-2008 at 08:16 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    3.3 GHz is not bad, did you press ctrl-f1 to get to hidden bios entries on you gigabyte?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    3.3 GHz is not bad, did you press ctrl-f1 to get to hidden bios entries on you gigabyte?
    Ya, tried screwing around with the HT link width in there to see if I could push it further. Didn't help any.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    So, should I go for Asus M3N-HT with it's nvidia chipset, or wait for '2nd generation AM2+ motherboards are coming very soon (790FX/SB750)'?

    I have no interest in SLI - this is just for high performance computing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,645

    Default

    Well then usually you would buy a Q6700, Q9450 or similar. Do you know of any benchmark where Phenom is significant faster than Core2?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Well then usually you would buy a Q6700, Q9450 or similar. Do you know of any benchmark where Phenom is significant faster than Core2?
    I believe my use will be limited by memory bandwidth. I have the idea that amd has the edge here - but I don't really know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •