Page 12 of 18 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 174

Thread: Installing latest Open Source ATI drivers under Ubuntu 8.04

  1. #111
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oibaf View Post
    tormod, can you update your -ati package to current git version
    Will do Don't forget you can easily roll your own packages with the auto-xorg-git script.
    Also, this appears to be no more needed on intrepid:
    I often just make one single source package which is then copied over and built in the xorg-edgers PPA and my own PPA, hardy and intrepid.

  2. #112

    Default

    Thanks for the update .

    Unfortunately this update does not fix the problem: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=17897

  3. #113

    Default

    OK, the fdo bug #17897 - Dithering problem on MacBook Pro is properly fixed.

    Can you update again your packages to latest commit 435cf7da68186f2601c4b888296117d4f652c625 please .

    I'd like that other Ubuntu users can try the updated git version and I eventually request to update the intrepid version to this snapshot, if we are still in time.

    Thanks again for all your work improving X experience for Ubuntu users.

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default libdrm2 source extracting error

    I am interested in enabling 3D feature on my laptop, which is T42 (RV350 Ati mobility 9600). In step 2.a, I failed to extract libdrm2 source files with patches. Can anybody help me how I can resolve this problem?

    ---------------
    xxx$ apt-get source libdrm2
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Need to get 1458kB of source archives.
    Get:1 http://ppa.launchpad.net hardy/main libdrm 2.4.0~git20081014.d9c2f65d-0ubuntu0tormod1 (tar) [1452kB]
    Get:2 http://ppa.launchpad.net hardy/main libdrm 2.4.0~git20081014.d9c2f65d-0ubuntu0tormod1 (diff) [5033B]
    Get:3 http://ppa.launchpad.net hardy/main libdrm 2.4.0~git20081014.d9c2f65d-0ubuntu0tormod1 (dsc) [1113B]
    Fetched 1458kB in 1s (1092kB/s)
    gpg: Signature made Tue 14 Oct 2008 01:50:39 PM CDT using DSA key ID BAF41D0C
    gpg: Can't check signature: public key not found
    dpkg-source: extracting libdrm in libdrm-2.4.0~git20081014.d9c2f65d
    dpkg-source: unpacking libdrm_2.4.0~git20081014.d9c2f65d.orig.tar.gz
    dpkg-source: applying ./libdrm_2.4.0~git20081014.d9c2f65d-0ubuntu0tormod1.diff.gz

  5. #115
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bart0094 View Post
    I am interested in enabling 3D feature on my laptop, which is T42 (RV350 Ati mobility 9600).
    3D is enabled by default for these cards, since many years ago. If it doesn't work in a standard Ubuntu installation, please file a bug.
    In step 2.a, I failed to extract libdrm2 source files with patches. Can anybody help me how I can resolve this problem?
    That looks fine. What's the problem?

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Recently, I've installed Kubuntu 8.10, which comes with the latest radeon enabled by default. Have to say that it works quite good in 2D and Video playback.

    Desktop effects also work quite smoothly, until there is a need to play Video via xv, or to run a 3D-app, but that's another story.

    There are some glitches in firefox 3, however.. But I'm not sure if this is connected to "radeon" or to "gtk-qt-engine" (at least, I didn't have these anomalies, when used Catalyst 8.9 in Hardy, and ClearLooks GTK theme).

    Can somebody point me where to look about these glitches?

    In particular, there is broken rendering of "Tabs", and also some "controls" inside a page (such as [hr], [radiobuttons], [checkboxes]).

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mityukov View Post
    Recently, I've installed Kubuntu 8.10, which
    There are some glitches in firefox 3, however.. But I'm not sure if this is connected to "radeon" or to "gtk-qt-engine" (at least, I didn't have these anomalies, when used Catalyst 8.9 in Hardy, and ClearLooks GTK theme).
    That is gtk-qt-engines fault... At least I think it is Simple solution I'm using right now is this theme :
    https://addons.mozilla.org/pl/firefox/addon/7574
    It has some other problems like for example not using oxygen style for drop down menus but no glitches with normal webbrowsing.

    Anyway there is a gossip that FF 3.1 will have a Qt native support so problems like that may be solved soon

    BTW do you get some small tearing with 3d effects ?
    Last edited by val-gaav; 11-05-2008 at 05:52 AM.

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by val-gaav View Post
    That is gtk-qt-engines fault... At least I think it is Simple solution I'm using right now is this theme :
    https://addons.mozilla.org/pl/firefox/addon/7574
    It has some other problems like for example not using oxygen style for drop down menus but no glitches with normal webbrowsing.

    Anyway there is a gossip that FF 3.1 will have a Qt native support so problems like that may be solved soon
    I wish Qt4 support was there...

    Quote Originally Posted by val-gaav View Post
    BTW do you get some small tearing with 3d effects ?
    I'm not sure... Everything seems to look the same way with Desktop Effects ON and OFF. Where should I look exactly?

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    248

    Default

    I get tearing from time to time while for example draging windows (transparency on) or with alt+tab effects. tried XAA, EXA, and different kwin settings and it's always the same.

    I'm using rs690 radeon x1200 which support is quite recent so that may be the problem.

    BTW videos work ok for me with xv and with composing on. Try setting up EXA in xorg.conf instead of default XAA.

  10. #120
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Tormod, current packages for Hardy miss 'XInput.h'. That header is in Hardy original 'x11proto-input-dev' package, later that header was moved to 'libxi-dev' as i see, but that package was not also updated for Hardy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •