Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 216

Thread: AMD Catalyst 8.5 For Linux

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,683

    Default

    For 64 bit you have to patch your kernel. That integrated "fix" is 32 bit only it seems...

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up Just installed ...

    and also have the watermark. Kinda Neat.
    Everything works fine and fast at first sight. The KDE translucent shadow effects as mentioned are working like they should now.

    I will test Second Monitor and Compiz on my laptop this week, because I had some troubles getting it working with 8.4

    I miss 1360x768 from the catalyst center. Does anyone know how this can be added?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    For 64 bit you have to patch your kernel. That integrated "fix" is 32 bit only it seems...
    I'm one of those poor dudes still running a 32-bit system, I'm afraid.

    Oh well, time to revert to 2.6.24, methinks.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    /dev/hell
    Posts
    297

    Default

    for me compiled well on a 64bit with kernel 2.6.25..

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I've gone back to 2.6.24 now, no problem with the fglrx module (and everything else seems to work okay, too).

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    ~/ Sweet ~/
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I've submitted a ticket to AMD/ATi about this and from the updates on the support page I would say someone has read it already. It's flagged as "Work in Progress" maybe they'll upload a new package tomorrow.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Hi,

    for the people which are getting:
    Code:
    FATAL: modpost: GPL-incompatible module fglrx.ko uses GPL-only symbol '__rcu_read_lock'
    the patch is:
    Code:
    237c237
    < MODULE_LICENSE("Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY");
    ---
    > MODULE_LICENSE("GPL");
    for the file /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/firegl_public.c

    then you have to rerun sh make.sh in /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/ and sh make_install.sh in /lib/modules/fglrx/

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Did anyone try with AGP cards ? like HD2400/2600 AGP

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    my card is a x1650 AGP and i got no Problems with it after the license-fix

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Have a good day.
    Posts
    678

    Default

    Am I the only one whose CPU gets stuck in C2 after suspending with the propietary driver? (this happened to me already in the previous release)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •