Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SteamOS Beta 126 Better Handles XBMC

Phoronix: SteamOS Beta 126 Better Handles XBMC

Valve has pushed another update out to SteamOS, with this time around there being benefits to fans of the XBMC multimedia software...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I just remembered I have a HTPC, Skymaster Rii, OpenElec and this came along. I fancy a run on my new 4K telly with some (underperforming I must say, but I dont care, it works!) Civ5!

I really need to sit down and work out how SteamOS is going to fit in to the whole of my network scene.
    Hi

Comment

Originally posted by stiiixy View Post
      I just remembered I have a HTPC, Skymaster Rii, OpenElec and this came along. I fancy a run on my new 4K telly with some (underperforming I must say, but I dont care, it works!) Civ5!

I really need to sit down and work out how SteamOS is going to fit in to the whole of my network scene.
      I'm pretty sure I'm going to end up building a new box for my living room. My current HTPC isn't really used, because for some reason nVidia saw fit to screw up the ION Chipset, and it's a nightmare to get the sound to work through HDMI out at all with newer drivers. So either I'm stuck with an older distribution, which does indeed output sound, but the channels need to be remapped so they are correct, or I get no sound at all, and would probably need to end up using one of the other sound connectors (which defeats half the purpose of hdmi in the first place).

Comment

...mysql-5.5 - upstream security fixes CVE-2014-2494, CVE-2014-4207...
        Huh? Shouldn't they be on mariadb? Or is it just time lag because of Debian being conservative?

Comment

Originally posted by kaprikawn View Post