Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound Updates For Linux 3.20 Improve HP Laptops, Other Features

Phoronix: Sound Updates For Linux 3.20 Improve HP Laptops, Other Features

The sound changes for the Linux 3.20 kernel aren't too incredibly exciting but there's some improvements for HP laptops, support for some new audio hardware, and a variety of other changes...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I know a lot of folks are going to disagree with me, but I don't like alsa. Yeah, sure you get sound, but that's not good enough. I can see putting audio codec drivers in the kernel, but the sound system really needs to be in userspace. (For obvious reasons)

Personally I've been hoping for some replacement for the past 8 years.

Comment

My all time request :

-Complete and decent drivers for Sound Blaster X-FI, with all the support Creative Labs promised for it about 7 years ago.

5 years ago I was deciding which soundcard to buy. My first choice was Asus Xonar D1.
      But Creative Labs promised to release a full featured X-FI driver for Linux, with support even for EAX.
      So I changed my mind and bought the X-FI.

You know the rest of the history.

Today, the driver of X-FI still sucks.

Comment

Originally posted by DebianLinuxero View Post
        My all time request :

-Complete and decent drivers for Sound Blaster X-FI, with all the support Creative Labs promised for it about 7 years ago.

5 years ago I was deciding which soundcard to buy. My first choice was Asus Xonar D1.
        But Creative Labs promised to release a full featured X-FI driver for Linux, with support even for EAX.
        So I changed my mind and bought the X-FI.

You know the rest of the history.

Today, the driver of X-FI still sucks.