Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fedora 28's Grubby Could Deal With /boot On Btrfs

Phoronix: Fedora 28's Grubby Could Deal With /boot On Btrfs

While Red Hat has been divesting from Btrfs and pursuing other Linux storage alternatives like Stratis, it looks like Fedora 28 will feature slightly better support for those opting for Btrfs...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

This was surprising news, I was under the impression that stuff like would have been solved years ago.

I have been running a single disk BTRFS filesystem since 2013 that I have gradually added disks to. It now runs with data:raid1 and metadata:raid10. Works great!
    on Debian all I have to do to remain happy is to run grub-install on all devices and the update-grub afterwards.

From my experience BTRFS works great. I now run it for my main computer with 7 disks, and for a server hosting the SOASC/SOAMC projects (look it up if you're into C64 and Amiga music) and I also run BTRFS on one of my own storage servers as well as a small netbook that is seriously out of date , but still does the job when I am out traveling.

BTRFS have corrected a few corruptions on some of these systems, and was able to survive a few mishaps like a disk controller hang and a couple of weeks ago I accidentally did the 'dd fiasco' where I overwrote one of the online disks with a opnsense image. Luckily BTRFS recognized this as bad data and used the alternative copy instead to read from and attempt to correct the bug as well. I was almost tempted to run a scrub to see if the filesystem was able to recover, but to be on the safe side I simply removed the device from the filesystem and re-added it again. No down time, everything works great and a scrub verified that all was good!