Ubuntu & Debian Moving Along With Plans For Removing Python 2 Packages

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ubuntu & Debian Moving Along With Plans For Removing Python 2 Packages

Phoronix: Ubuntu & Debian Moving Along With Plans For Removing Python 2 Packages

With Debian 10 "Buster" out the door and Python 2 hitting end-of-life at the end of the year, Debian is working on their process of removing Python 2 packages that don't get ported to Python 3 and Ubuntu is working on similar action for their Python 2 packages not found in upstream Debian...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I've been hearing this since 2014 but on Ubuntu 19.04, if I type $ `python` I _still_ get 2.7.15. Until the python command defaults to 3.x I consider 2.7 to be alive and well, and for the subsequent 5 years too, no matter what the neojava...sorry "python" core developer zealots keep astroturfing.
    Last edited by vegabook; 27 August 2019, 11:15 AM.

Comment

This is great. For too long have Python developers been flippantly dragging in dependencies and scripts without worrying about future maintenance.

Now that Python is getting some legacy baggage it will be a good learning experience for a developer to have to solve things. For example the issue of a dependency they are completely reliant upon not having yet been ported to Python 3.x whilst at the same time another dependency they require no longer supports version 2.x because some Linux distros have "moved on".

Normally I hate pointless artificial deprecation like this but since I have made sure that I have zero ties to Python projects, I am gonna grab some popcorn instead

The only people I feel sorry for are the Raspberry Pi kids who are trying to learn how to program and have been force fed Python.