Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radeon ROCm 2.7.2 Released

Phoronix: Radeon ROCm 2.7.2 Released

Radeon ROCm 2.7.2 is now available as the newest update to AMD's open-source GPU compute stack for Linux systems...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I have a Radeon RX 460 running on Fedora 30, with the radeon and radv drivers working just fine.

How do I go about enabling ROCm so that I gain OpenCL acceleration?

I'm new at this and fairly clueless about the whole ordeal.

Comment

A few months ago I tried to setup TensorFlow with ROCm support and gave up at some point. The ROCm toolchain seems to be insanely complicated (IMHO it's a complete mess).
      Your best bet would be a LTS distro and the AMD-built package repositories. Have a look here: https://rocm-documentation.readthedo...m-repositories
      Good luck!

Comment

rocm release management totally a mess. I cant do apt upgrade b/c either expire signature or wrong deb URL.
        and what we waiting here is a packaging fix?

shame on Amd. where is rocm for Navi?

3month passed, Navi support still not ready? does it suppose be launch day feature?

Comment

They should improve the insanely hard way to install ROCm on the latest distributions.
          Not everyone wants to be stuck with a more than 1 year old distribution and kernel just to use ROCm.
          After I found out that the install refuses to work because I have a distribution and kernel too new I had to format everything and:
          Install Kubuntu 18.04 -> Install ROCm -> Upgrade to Kubuntu 19.04 -> Upgrade KDE Plasma -> Upgrade Kernel to 5.2
          Just to get closer to what I want a system with latest KDE plasma and kernel that it be good for everything including some gaming.