Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Updated FUTEX2 System Call Patches Posted For Helping Wine/Proton, Other Use-Cases

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Updated FUTEX2 System Call Patches Posted For Helping Wine/Proton, Other Use-Cases

Phoronix: Updated FUTEX2 System Call Patches Posted For Helping Wine/Proton, Other Use-Cases

It's been several months since the last round of FUTEX2 patches for this system call to address the shortcomings of the current FUTEX system call. FUTEX2, which is designed in part with Wine/Proton in mind for better matching Windows semantics, has now seen a third iteration of the patches...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I'm not an expert on this but why does FUTEX2 need special support for waiting on multiple futexes? Isn't that already covered by epoll_wait()?

Comment

Originally posted by jacob View Post
      I'm not an expert on this but why does FUTEX2 need special support for waiting on multiple futexes? Isn't that already covered by epoll_wait()?
      Normal mutex/futex dont have a filedescriptor, cant be used with epoll. Dont know if FUTEX2 are filedescriptors, but even if.. epoll has overhead for setup, and multiple threads could wait for different sets concurrently

Comment

I'm using these patches since a while via xanmod kernel + proton-ge-6.5 there are for sure performance uplifts. e.g. AC:Origin benchmark has way less stutter on ultra settings.

Comment

Originally posted by jacob View Post