Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2016 End-of-Year Open-Source Radeon Benchmarks With Linux 4.9, Mesa 13.1-dev On Many Different GPUs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2016 End-of-Year Open-Source Radeon Benchmarks With Linux 4.9, Mesa 13.1-dev On Many Different GPUs

Phoronix: 2016 End-of-Year Open-Source Radeon Benchmarks With Linux 4.9, Mesa 13.1-dev On Many Different GPUs

With 2016 soon drawing to an end, it's time for all of my year-end recaps now of Linux drivers that I have been doing for the past 12 years. Today are benchmarks of a wide assortment of AMD graphics cards on both R600g and RadeonSI Gallium3D drivers when using Mesa 13.1-dev + LLVM 4.0 SVN and the Linux 4.9 kernel for providing a bleeding-edge look at the open-source AMD Linux graphics performance across hardware going from the Radeon HD 4890 series all the way up through the RX 480 and R9 Fury hardware. Here's a fun look at the OpenGL driver performance across this range of GPUs.

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

That whole not being able to hit at least 120 or 144 fps in some games is really annoying.

Comment

Anyone running the r600g driver should apply this patch: https://lists.freedesktop.org/archiv...er/135975.html

If fixes a bunch of lockups in various games. Not sure if it would fix Michael's 4850/4870 problems or if that's something else.

Unfortunately nobody has reviewed/committed it to master, because everyone's busy looking at radeonsi now.

Comment

Looks to me that these tests show clearly two things.....

The best bang for the buck overall is the RX 470. But if 2 GB of RAM is all you need and getting a card on Ebay for less than $150 is more important then the R9 285 is the best bang for the buck.

Comment