Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OPNsense 17.7 Released For FreeBSD 11 Powered Firewall

Phoronix: OPNsense 17.7 Released For FreeBSD 11 Powered Firewall

A big update is available today of OPNsense, the fork of pfSense that serves as a FreeBSD-based network operating system / firewall...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Being aware that pfSense existed and having only recently learned about the OPNSense fork, I installed one of the OPNSense 17.1.x releases on an AMD E-450 w/2GB RAM.

I have been very pleased with both its performance, its stability and its UI. I'll probably wait a point release or two before upgrading it from 17.1.x to 17.7.x, though.

Comment

I've been using OPNSense for a couple years now and I absolutely love it. pfSense is garbage by comparison, and it makes OpenWRT look like a bad joke.

Comment

Does it have plugins to turn the thing into a decent NAS too? (is there a plugin list somewhere?)

I'm seriously considering getting a x86-based system like these https://www.aliexpress.com/item/HCiP...788794421.html
        and a proper firewall distro to replace my router running OpenWRT/LEDE (because of reasons)

Anyone have any recommendation on hardware?

Comment

Originally posted by starshipeleven View Post
          Does it have plugins to turn the thing into a decent NAS too? (is there a plugin list somewhere?)

I'm seriously considering getting a x86-based system like these https://www.aliexpress.com/item/HCiP...788794421.html
          and a proper firewall distro to replace my router running OpenWRT/LEDE (because of reasons)

Anyone have any recommendation on hardware?