Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AFS File-System Driver Overhauled For Linux 4.15

Phoronix: AFS File-System Driver Overhauled For Linux 4.15

Red Hat developers have been working on an overhaul of the AFS file-system's kernel driver for the just-opened Linux 4.15 kernel merge window...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

That's a blast from the past. When I was a student at CMU I actually jumped through the flaming hoops that were required to get my Linux box talking to my AFS share on the University network (a whopping 10 MEGABytes, which was incredibly puny even at that time since AFS wasn't being very well maintained). That included plenty of weird kernel & userspace stuff plus making sure I was actually authenticating via Kerberos properly. This was around the time that the 2.6 Kernel was going mainstream, so it's been a while.

AFS and its stillborn successor Coda have a bunch of crazy features that are pretty cool sounding, but the complexity to actually get the system working has meant that it has had very limited acceptance.

Comment

I'm curious if Red Hat's spiked interest in AFS has anything to do with their new Stratis stack.
      Does anyone have any insight?

Comment

The in Kernel AFS driver isn't that great it never has been as I understand it even with these changes it is missing alot of stuff that openafs supports much less auristor.